/The jury of ETIUDA AND ANIMA competitions

The jury of ETIUDA AND ANIMA competitions

We present this year’s jurors of ETIUDA competition and ANIMA competition.


The ETIUDA Competition Jury

Maciej J. Drygas – President of the Jury

Born in 1956 in Lodz. He had his debut with a documentary drygasHear my cry (Usłyszcie mój krzyk) about a self-immolation of Ryszard Siwiec. The harrowing document was awarded with, among others, the European Film Award and the Silver Dragon at the Krakow Film Festival. Since that time Maciej Drygas has devoted himself to making documentaries, especially found footage, with the use of old archival films and by giving them new meaning. He is the author, among others, of the following documentaries: Weightless (Stan nieważkości, 1994), Voice of Hope (Głos nadziei, 2002), One Day in People`s Poland (Jeden dzień w PRL, 2005), Violated letters (Cudze listy, 2010), Abu Haraz (2013), as well as numerous radio dramas. He teaches at the Film School in Lodz; together with Mirosław Dembiński, he has been working on a long-standing project “World from Dawn to Dusk”. Last year, during the 22nd edition of the festival Etiuda&Anima, he was awarded, together with Dembiński, the Special Golden Dinosaur for the same project.


Ryszard Jaźwiński

Radio journalist with a particular interest in cinema. Participant ryszard_jazwinski2and juror of numerous film festivals, both in Poland and abroad, connoisseur of cinema. He studied journalism at the University of Warsaw and soon after gradution joined the Polish Radio Programme III, where he works to this day. He is the author of many broadcasts (“Zapraszamy do Trójki”, “To był dzień”, “Trójka na dwa głosy”, “Klub Trójki” among others) and a host of his original radio programme “Trójkowo, filmowo”, which has been on air for nearly 20 years. His programmes, including “Fajny film…” (a series of daily interviews with filmmakers), were nominated five times for Polish Film Institute Awards, most recently in 2016.  “Trójkowo, filmowo” was awarded by the Polish Film Institute as the Best Radio/TV Programme in 2010 .


Yoav Kosh

Yoav Kosh, has been an active filmmaker and teacher in Israel yoav-kosh1for the past 30 years. His cinematography credits include about thirty feature-length movies and dozens of television shows, drama series, and documentaries. Among other: “Life According to Agfa”, “Love Sick in Nana Street”, “Shuroo”, and “Avanti Popolo”. Yoav has won numerous honors for his work, including two awards for “Best Cinematography” from the Israeli Film Academy, award for “Best Cinematography” from Haifa Film Festival, and more.


Martin Štoll

Born in  1973. He is a documentarist and media theorist. He martin_stoll1graduated from FAMU, Prague (MgA. 1997; PhD 2001). He shot 54 documentary films, some of them were awarded the international festival prices (e.g. Who Is Playing, Isn´t Naughty; Prague – stage of Science; Yourney to Vostok). He worked as a dramaturge and chief dramaturge of the Centre of Documentary Production of the Czech Television and cooperated with Czech filmmakers as Helena Trestikova, Olga Sommerova, Pavel Stingl, Vera Chytilova. He is the author of book related to history and theory of film and television (e.g. Jan Spata, Documentary Prague, Czech Documentarist Dictionary, The Birth of TV Nation…). Since 2014 he works as a docent at the Institute of communication studies and journalism at the Faculty of Social Sciences, Charles University in Prague.


Fernanda Valadez

She studied filmmaking in Mexico City. Her short film Of this fernanda-valadezWorld was considered the best Mexican short of 2011 by the Mexican Chamber of Film Industry (CANACINE), won the best short film award at the Guanajuato International Film Festival and was screened at the “Best Mexican shorts” pavilion of the Short Film Corner 2011 (Cannes Film Festival). 400 Bags received the Golden Dinosaur at the Etiuda&Anima Film Festival 2015.


The Anima Competition Jury

Georges Schwizgebel – President of the Jury

Born in Reconvilier, Switzerland, in 1944, Georges georges-schwizgebel2Schwizgebel is among the biggest name in contemporary animation. This well-rounded author of 18 short films has seen his work pick up prizes at Cannes, Annecy, Zagreb, Hiroshima, Stuttgart, Ottawa and Espinho. Two of his films-78 R.P.M. (1985) and The Ride to the Abyss (1992)- rank among the hundred most influential animated films on a list published by the Festival d’Annecy in 2006. The Man without a Shadow (2004), his first collaboration with the National Film Board, garnered 17 international awards. Though he first used rotoscoping (Perspectives, 1975: Off-side, 1977), Schwizgebel later traded in this tool for a freer approach marked by the gestural application of colour and the frequent use of geometric shapes (Fugue, 1998; The Young Girl and the Clouds, 2000). His last film Erlking (2015) get a Grand prize at Leipzig and Etiuda&Anima.


Andreas Hykade

Born in 1968 in Altotting, in Bavaria, he is a renowned andreas-hykade2animation producer and a pedagogue. The director of animated films: „The Country Trilogy” („We Lived in Grass” [1995], „Ring of Fire” [2000], “The Runt” [2006], and “Love & Theft” (2010), “Nuggets” (2015). At present, he is working at his first feature-length film – “Altötting”. Hykade is the author of music videos for Italian DJ Gigi d´Agostino and German band Die Toten Hosen. He won many awards in animation, among others: grand prize for best short film Ottawa (2000) for „Ring of Fire”, grand prize Black Nights Festival Talinn (2006) and Fipresci award Annecy (2007) for “The Runt”. His work was shown in numerous retrospectives. Hykade is the director of the Institute of Animation at the Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg in Germany, since 2008 he has taught animation at Harvard University (USA).


Andrzej Klimowski

Born in 1949 in London. He graduated from St. Martin’s School andrzej-klimowski2of Art in London and from Warsaw Academy of Fine Arts. He designs posters for theatres and film distrubutors in Poland as well as book covers and press illustrations in England. He is an author of numerous  graphic novels, i. a. “The Depository”, “The Secret” and “Horace Dorlan” published by Faber & Faber, and a co-author (with Danusia Schejbal) of adaptations and original books for SelfMadeHero. For many years, he has been the Head of Illustration Faculty at the Royal College of Art, where he is now a Professor Emeritus.


Nancy Denney-Phelps

Nancy Denney-Phelps is a journalist writing about European nancy-denney-phelps2animation and festivals as well as a producer of music for animation. Along with her composer/musician husband Nik Phelps, she co-founded the Sprocket Ensemble dedicated to presenting live performances of original music with screenings of contemporary animation from around the world. Nancy’s writings have appeared in such publications as CARTOON and ANIMATOON as well as on her regular blog for AWN (Animation World Network).  She is also a regular correspondent for ASIFA/San Francisco and a member of the ASIFA International Board of Directors.


Anita Killi

Born in 1968 in Stavanger, Norway. She studied illustration and anita_kiligraphic design at the Norwegian National College of Art & Design as well as animation at Volda University College, where she also completed the third year of documentary filmmaking. In 1996, she received a master’s degree in animation (specialization: multiplan technique) from Oslo National Academy of the Arts. Since then, she has been working in her own animation studio – Trollfilm AS. Her film “Tornehekken” (“The Hedge of Thorns”) has been awarded in numerous international film festivals and was nominated for Cartoon d’Or. At the moment, Anita Killi is working on her first full-lenght film –  “Christmas Survivors”.